Saturday, September 2, 2017

Review: Diplomatic Immunity by Brodi Ashton

Diplomatic Immunity
Publication Date: September 6, 2016
Hardcover, 368 pages, Balzer + Bray
Genres: YA, Contemporary

Aspiring reporter Piper Baird decides to write a scathing exposé on the overprivileged students at an elite Washington, DC, school, only for her life to change when she begins to fall for the story's main subject, in this new realistic contemporary romance from Brodi Ashton, the author of the Everneath trilogy.

Raucous parties, privileged attitudes, underage drinking, and diplomatic’s all part of student life on Embassy Row.

Piper Baird has always dreamed of becoming a journalist. So when she scores a scholarship to exclusive Chiswick Academy in Washington, DC, she knows it’s her big opportunity. Chiswick offers the country’s most competitive prize for teen journalists—the Bennington scholarship—and winning will ensure her acceptance to one of the best schools in the country.

Piper isn’t at Chiswick for two days before she witnesses the intense competition in the journalism program—and the extreme privilege of the young and wealthy elite who attend her school. And Piper knows access to these untouchable students just might give her the edge she’ll need to blow the lid off life at the school in a scathing and unforgettable exposé worthy of the Bennington.

The key to the whole story lies with Rafael Amador, the son of the Spanish ambassador—and the boy at the center of the most explosive secrets and scandals on Embassy Row. Rafael is big trouble—and when he drops into her bedroom window one night, asking for help, it’s Piper’s chance to get the full scoop. But as they spend time together, Piper discovers that despite his dark streak, Rafael is smart, kind, funny, and gorgeous—and she might have real feelings for him. How can she break the story of a lifetime if it could destroy the boy she just might love?

My Review

I haven’t read a Brodi Ashton book in soooo long. When I picked this one up, I hadn’t realized how much I missed Brodi’s writing style. Diplomatic Immunity is a charismatic and fun adventure with a relatable protagonist.

Okay, so Piper Baird isn’t the most relatable character ever. She is a little obsessed with journalism; however, her conversations had me cracking up. As someone who has my own in-my-head conversations and then forces my random thoughts on others, Piper’s voice was super relatable. Thankfully, though, Piper has much more amusing talks with more interesting people than I typically do. *cough* cute guys *cough*

Now, something I didn’t like quite as much about Piper was her decision to write the exposé in the first place. I’m not sure what she really thought would happen if it ever got released into the public. I think any reader could see this as a Mean Girls Burn Book situation.

Other than that little issue, this book was a surprise through and through. I was smiling so much throughout the entire read. It was just a fun, romantic story. Rafael was a sweet love interest, if a little troubled at times, and Piper’s friends and family were very supportive and present. I do, however, wish there was more with the family and friends towards the end. I just wanted more!

All in all, this was a great read. I flipped through it so fast and kept giggling throughout, so if you’re looking for a fun, plot-driven YA contemporary romance, I’d highly suggest Diplomatic Immunity. It’s a perfect read for fans of Kasie West or Stephanie Perkins.

*Note: I borrowed a copy of this book from my local library. This in no way affected my opinion/review.


  1. I haven't read Brodi Ashton before but this sounds like a fun read. I love books with a bit of humor so I will have to look for it. Great review!


I LOVE your comments! And I do read all of them so keep at it! Thanks for visiting!