Sunday, February 18, 2018

Fall 2018 Cover Reveals + My Thoughts

So many cover drops have happened in the last week! So many! I wish I could talk about them all, but my fingers don’t want to type up that long blog post. Thus, I’m just going to share my thoughts on the ones that I’m interested in reading.

The Prophecy
Publication Date: March 8, 2018
Genres: NA, Paranormal

History is on repeat…

Seth never thought he’d have a future. But now he’s on the brink of having it all with Josie: A tomorrow. A family. A forever. And all that's standing between him and that forever is the Titans. If he helps Josie entomb them -- without killing them, a nearly impossible task for him -- everything he could ever want will be in reach. But he soon realizes that as a god, every little choice he makes can reshape the world for the better… or worse. And in meddling with the Titans, Seth may have just set into motion catastrophic consequences that will force the Olympians to enter the mortal realm and reshape the delicate balance of power that keeps the world from total collapse.

A price must be paid…

Entombing the Titans is Josie’s top priority. After all, it was what she was born to do. But the plans her father put into play to help her are no longer an option, and the odds she and Seth face in forging their own path are grim. The escalating violence between halfs and pures only increases the danger closing in on them and their friends. Josie knows their chances of succeeding in their task are slim at best -- and if they fail, they might lose everything. But she also knows she's not fighting just for herself -- she's fighting for the man she loves, for their future, for the world. Together with the Army of Awesome, Josie and Seth will face the unthinkable. And to win this war, the ultimate sacrifice must be made.

For the end is here and the Prophecy will be fulfilled….

My Thoughts

I’m just glad this last one matches the rest of the series. Jennifer L. Armentrout’s series are famous for having last-book cover changes (e.g., the Lux series, the Wicked series, The Dark Elements series, the Wait for You companion series). I mean, this cover isn’t very appealing, but it matches. I also still have to read books two and three first, though.


Two Dark Reigns
(The Three Dark Crowns #3)
Publication Date: September 4, 2018
Hardcover, 320 pages, HarperTeen
Genres: YA, Fantasy

In the third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Three Dark Crowns series, a queen that has long been dead makes a chilling return to Fennbirn Island.

Queen Katharine has waited her entire life to wear the crown. But now that she finally has it, the murmurs of dissent grow louder by the day. There’s also the alarming issue of whether her sisters are actually dead—or if they’re waiting in the wings to usurp the throne.

Mirabella and Arsinoe are alive, but they’re dealing with a nightmare of their own. Stuck on the mainland, where their powers have weakened, the girls are being visited by a specter they think may be the fabled Blue Queen, pointing her rotting, boney finger toward Fennbirn.

Jules, too, is in a strange place—still on the island but in disguise. And her only confidantes, a war-gifted girl named Emilia and her oracle friend Mathilde, are urging her to take on a role she can’t imagine filling: a legion-cursed queen who will lead a rebel army to Katharine’s doorstep. This is an uprising that the mysterious Blue Queen may have more to do with than anyone could have guessed—or expected.

My Thoughts

I haven’t read the first two books, but I like this cover waaaaay more than those two covers. The detail on the staffs/scepters is amazing! I’ve heard mixed things about Three Dark Crowns, but I know I’ll probably buy it eventually anyway. #bookhoardingftw

As She Ascends
(Fallen Isles Trilogy #2)
Publication Date: September 11, 2018
Hardcover, 496 pages, Katherine Tegen Books
Genres: YA, Fantasy

Mira Minkoba is on the run with her friends after a fiery escape from the Pit, where she’d been imprisoned for defending the dragons she loves. And she wants answers. Where have all the dragons been taken? Why are powerful noorestones being shipped to the mainland? And did the treaty she’s been defending her whole life truly sell out the Fallen Isles to their enemies?

As her connection to the dragons—and their power—grows stronger, so does Mira’s fear that she might lose control and hurt someone she loves. But the only way to find the truth is to go home again, to Damina, to face the people who betrayed her and the parents she’s not sure she can trust.

Home, where she must rise above her fears. Or be consumed.

The second page-turning novel in Jodi Meadows’ Fallen Isles trilogy scorches with mysterious magic and riveting romance as one girl kindles a spark into a flame.

My Thoughts

Hmm… Once again, I’m super glad it matches the first book, but other than that, it just looks alright. I think the double moons is a little weird. I’m sure it’s purposeful and related to the story, but it just looks like a Photoshop error. The cover could have been better without them. I do love the gold swirly dragon font, though.


The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein
Publication Date: September 25, 2018
Hardcover, 304 pages, Delacorte
Genres: YA, Historical Fiction

Elizabeth Lavenza hasn't had a proper meal in weeks. Her thin arms are covered with bruises from her "caregiver," and she is on the verge of being thrown into the streets . . . until she is brought to the home of Victor Frankenstein, an unsmiling, solitary boy who has everything--except a friend.

Victor is her escape from misery. Elizabeth does everything she can to make herself indispensable--and it works. She is taken in by the Frankenstein family and rewarded with a warm bed, delicious food, and dresses of the finest silk. Soon she and Victor are inseparable.

But her new life comes at a price. As the years pass, Elizabeth's survival depends on managing Victor's dangerous temper and entertaining his every whim, no matter how depraved. Behind her blue eyes and sweet smile lies the calculating heart of a girl determined to stay alive no matter the cost . . . as the world she knows is consumed by darkness.

My Thoughts

This one is interesting. It doesn’t look like much on screen, but Kiersten shared a clip of what the ARC looks like, and it’s shiny and matte. It’ll probably look glorious in person.


On the Come Up
Publication Date: May 1, 2018
Hardcover, 320 pages, Balzer + Bray
Genres: YA, Contemporary

Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least get some streams on her mixtape. As the daughter of an underground rap legend who died right before he hit big, Bri’s got massive shoes to fill. But when her mom unexpectedly loses her job, food banks and shut-off notices become as much a part of her life as beats and rhymes. With bills piling up and homelessness staring her family down, Bri no longer just wants to make it—she has to make it.

My Thoughts

I haven’t read The Hate You Give yet. I know, I know, what am I doing with my life? I should read it immediately. I know.

I’m also not super sure about the plotline of this one. I’m not big into books about singers, bands, etc. So I’ll probably start with Angie’s first book and see how I feel first. But, yay for more matching covers!


Frozen Reign
(Burning Glass #3)
Publication Date: November 6, 2018
Hardcover, 416 pages, Katherine Tegen Books
Genres: YA, Fantasy

Fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red Queen will devour the heart-stopping finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Burning Glass trilogy, as teen empath Sonya fights to regain her powers amid a vengeful civil war.

Civil war is on the horizon, and former Sovereign Auraseer Sonya is helpless to stop it. With her empathic powers gone, she can no longer protect her beloved Anton from his vindictive brother, Valko, the fallen emperor bent on reclaiming his throne. Valko, who is not only marching an enemy army across the Riaznin border but using an Auraseer to hunt—and potentially kill—both Sonya and Anton.

Then Sonya hears about an Auraseer in a far-off kingdom who may be able to heal her—but without her powers, finding the legendary Auraseer will be dangerous. And if she doesn’t succeed, the peace Sonya sacrificed so much to achieve will be shattered forever.

My Thoughts

Yep. Haven’t started this trilogy either. Gosh, I’m so behind. But, happy dance, more matching covers! I’m also glad this book is blue and not red. None of the books in this series are red. Red is blugh, so I’m excited.


The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy
(Guide #2)
Publication Date: October 2, 2018
Hardcover, Katherine Tegen Books
Genres: YA, Historical Fiction

Felicity Montague is through with pretending she prefers society parties to books about bonesetting—or that she’s not smarter than most people she knows, or that she cares about anything more than her dream of becoming a doctor.

Fresh off an accidentally whirlwind tour of Europe that she spent evading highwaymen and pirates with her brother Monty, Felicity has returned to England with one goal in mind—to enroll in medical school. However, her intellect and passion will never be enough in the eyes of the administrators, who see men as the sole guardians of science. But then a small window of hope opens. Felicity is offered a chance to break into this male-dominated world, although it might financially ruin her.

For the last year, she has been depending on the generosity of Callum Doyle, a lovestruck suitor from Edinburgh. But then he had to go and propose marriage. Felicity can think of nothing less appealing than giving up her career aspirations to become someone’s wife. Luckily, a mysterious young woman will pay handsomely for help with a heist—not for jewels, but for stolen sea charts that belong to the British Navy.

Despite the danger, Felicity’s tempted by the money, but she never expects to be swept up in a perilous quest that leads her from the German countryside to the promenades of Zurich to secrets lurking beneath the Atlantic.

My Thoughts

I just bought the first book, and it should be delivered to my apartment today. Woohoo! Again, though, another matching cover. I actually like this one a lot more than A Gentlemen’s Guide. I like the color combination here.


There were so many more cover reveals this week, but these were just the ones I’m interested in reading. Check out Epic Reads’ blog to look at the rest of their Fall 2018 cover reveals.

Did you see Harper’s recent cover reveals? What are your thoughts?


  1. This is the first time that I have seen some of these covers. I think that the Frankenstein cover looks really good. I may have to try to get my hands on that one.

  2. I like the cover for Two Dark Reigns even though I didn't read the other books yet. Same for Frozen I guess we both need to start reading.

    1. Haha. Yep. There's so much to read and so little time. ;)

  3. The "The Three Dark Crowns" book covers are stunning. I've also never read the first two books, but I love looking at the covers and guessing what they mean.

    Lauren @

    1. Yeah, this third cover makes me think one of the sisters died or stopped fighting for the crown? Not sure, but I'm intrigued...


I LOVE your comments! And I do read all of them so keep at it! Thanks for visiting!